top of page

Create the Old Window Look!

Living in an older house usually means having crawlspaces, basement, or attic. In my case, I inherited a push-upward type of opening to the attic, made from the same popcorn material as the ceiling, which is now banned!

So many people, from previous owners to contractors, have had their dirty hands pushing up to open this, that there was no way to clean it anymore.

The quickest way to create a new look without overhaul is to make a window-look by using very thin frame you can buy online or get scraps at your local supply store. Make sure the frame is thin and light -- you don't want to add weight to something you need to push up.

Glass mirror is heavy, so I opted for glass film (you can use the real thing if you want, for less than $15). Glue or epoxy to make sure permanence.

Simply lay the mirror film, then nail the wood on top of it. Done!

To give it the old reclaimed wood look, I used my fingers to spread white, cream, and gray paint here and there -- you can use whatever you have. I just used leftover paint around the house.

Great Result! it adds depth to the hallway.

Of course you can add more depth to any room by installing a 3D Vinyl Mural from my collection. Enjoy browsing!

bottom of page